Zandvoort poles for Mads Siljehaug and Daniel McKay

13 July 2019

Mads Siljehaug and Daniel McKay proved to be fastest in the qualifying sessions for GT4 European Series races at Zandvoort. The Norwegian in the #24 Valvoline - True Racing KTM was fastest in the first 20-minute session, while in the second session the Equipe Verschuur driver in the #14 McLaren set the fastest time just before rain hit the Dutch track again.

Just after 8.30am 28 drivers went out on the damp Zandvoort asphalt for Q1. Track conditions improved as the minutes ticked away on the clock. Five minutes from the end of Q1 it was a KTM 1-2, but in the final minutes several drivers found dry lines and were able to split the KTMs as the checkered flag came out.

Phoenix Racing’s Nicolaj Møller-Madsen went to the top of the timing screens with just under two minutes remaining, but his time of 1m46.823 wasn’t good enough to claim pole for race 1, as Mads Siljehaug’s went even quicker, courtesy of the fastest sector 3 time on his last lap. The Norwegian managed to put in a 1m46.458, which none of the other drivers managed to beat.

On their last timed lap Alec Udell (MDM Motorsport BMW) and Finlay Hutchison (V8 Racing Camaro) managed to secure third and fourth place, with Patric Niederhauser claiming fifth in his KTM. Ricardo van der Ende, turning 40 today, qualified his Ekris M4 GT4 in sixth place overall, ahead of the fastest Pro-Am entry, the #15 NM Racing Team Ginetta of Lluc Ibanez. Duncan Huisman was the second fastest driver in Pro-Am.

Benjamin Lessennes qualified in ninth place overall, followed by Norwegian Marcus Paverud in the Pro-Am entered Leipert Motorsport Mercedes-AMG. Fastest in the AM class was the CMR Alpine of David Loger, with the French driver setting the 21st fastest time overall.

Just after the start of Q2 the rain returned to Zandvoort and soon the wet conditions began to impact the lap times. Daniel McKay, whose McLaren was one of the first cars out on the track, managed to put in a 1m54.425, but behind him drivers were slower and unable to match McKay’s time.

With only a couple of minutes left some drivers began to improve, but with the exception of Jan Kisiel, who managed to slot his Leipert Mercedes-AMG into second place, there were no position changes in the top five.

Behind McKay and Kisiel, Jamie Vandenbalck (Street Art Racing) was third fastest, ahead of Simon Knap in the MDM Motorsport BMW. First in Pro-Am was Luci Trefz in the Leipert Motorsport, in fifth place overall, ahead of Euan McKay in the Ekrs, Reinhard Kofler in the True Racing KTM and Mark van der Aa in the second MDM Motorsport BMW.

Second fastest in Pro-Am was Jorge Cabezas Catalan in the NM Racing Team Ginetta, with Jan Kasperlik claiming third in the Allied Racing Porsche. Selleslagh Racing Team driver Alessandro Giovanelli claimed the AM pole for tomorrow’s race.



8 - 10 May 2020

Circuit Paul Ricard

29 - 31 May 2020


26 - 28 June 2020


23 - 25 July 2020


4 - 6 September 2020


25 - 27 September 2020